

Congratulations to the

2023 Annual Award Recipients

The State Bar of New Mexico is pleased to announce the 2023 Annual Awards recipients. The Annual Awards recognize those who have distinguished themselves or who have made exemplary contributions to the State Bar or legal profession in the past year. A record number of submissions were received this year, which is a testament to the extraordinary individuals and organizations who were nominated. Out of those nominees, the following eight outstanding individuals and organization were selected as the recipients this year. The awards will be presented during the 2023 Annual Meeting at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort on Thursday, July 27. For a schedule of events for the Annual Meeting and registration information, please visit www.sbnm.org/CLE-Events/Annual-Meeting-2023.

MARY GALVEZ

— Distinguished Bar Service - Nonlawyer Award —

Recognizes non-lawyers who have provided valuable service and contributions to the legal profession over a significant period of time..

JOY APPLEWHITE

— Excellence in Well-Being Award —

Many individuals have made significant contributions to the improvement of legal professional well-being to include destignatizing mental health, strengthening resiliency and creating a synergic approach to work and life. This award was created to recognize an individual or organization that has made an outstanding positive contribution to the New Mexico legal community's well-being.

DAVID J. STOUT

— Judge Sarah M. Singleton Distinguished Service Award —

Recognizes attorneys who have provided valuable service and contributions to the legal profession, the State Bar of New Mexico, and the public over a significant period of time.

JUSTICE EDWARD L. CHAVEZ

— Justice Pamela B. Minzner Professionalism Award —

Recognizes attorneys and/or judges who, over long and distinguished legal careers, have by their ethical and personal conduct exemplified for their fellow attorneys the epitome of professionalism.

JUDICIAL BRANCH IT STAFF

— Outstanding Legal Organization Award —

Recognizes outstanding or extraordinary law-related organizations or programs that serve the legal profession and the public.

SHASTA N. INMAN

— Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year Award —

Awarded to attorneys who have, during the formative stages of their legal careers by their ethical and personal conduct, exemplified for their fellow attorneys the epitome of professionalism by demonstrating a commitment to clients' causes and to public service, enhancing the image of the legal profession.

ELLA JOAN FENOGLIO

— Robert H. LaFollette Pro Bono Award —

Presented to an attorney who has made an exemplary contribution of time and effort, without compensation, to provide legal assistance over his or her career to people who could not afford the assistance of an attorney.

JUDGE LORENZO F. GARCIA

— Seth D. Montgomery Distinguished Judicial Service Award —

Recognizes judges who have distinguished themselves through long and exemplary service on the bench and who have significantly advanced the administration of justice or improved the relations between the bench and the bar.



For more information, visit www.sbnm.org/AnnualAwards.